I feel a bit like Old Father Time as these reports seem to have been going on forever – but, once again, it is my pleasure to review the events of the year.

Our Spring Meeting was held at the course we have played more often than any other, Gerrards Cross, and David Wild  took the Jack Ryman Cup  with 35 points. The weather was mild with blustery showers and 28 attended.  At the  AGM  Gordon Christiansen assumed the captaincy.

Warm weather greeted us at one of our favourite venues, the beautiful Burnham Beeches, for the next meeting.
30 members and guests enjoyed a pleasant day, none more so than our previous captain, Geoffrey Betts  who,  freed from the cares of duty,  won the John Bond Cup with  34 points. The course must be one of the best kept in the South and it was agreed we would return next year.

The President’s Trophy  meeting was at Camberley Heath and very well attended. Not surprising as we only had to pay for the food due to the chaos which occurred there the previous year. The weather was dry with sunny periods.
Our incoming captain, Gordon Christiansen, obviously still not yet burdened with the cares of office (!) won the President’s Trophy with a commendable 39 points and 44 members and guests enjoyed their day.

New ground was broken for the Captain’s Outing in early October. Previously there had been six overseas trips (two in Le Touquet, one each in Etretat, Chantilly & Reims and one in Belgium) but this was the first entailing a flight and a wonderful event in Portugal it turned out to be. An excellent hotel on the outskirts of the lovely coastal town of Cascais, well organised transport to and from the courses, three excellent and scenic courses plus the one magic ingredient that makes these things go so well – warm, sunny Autumnal weather! The main event, the Captain’s Salver, was played at Oitavos Dunes, ranked 68th in the best 100 courses in the world. A stunning and difficult venue for most - the 3 back markers, of which your scribe was one, finished a massive 21 points behind the winner, Carolyn Betts  with a remarkable 37 points. Some of us stayed on to make a week of it including a day in Lisbon, a wonderful capital city, much appreciated by the tourers on the open top bus – see pictures on the website.
Our captain,  Gordon Christiansen, ably assisted by Sarah, did an excellent job and can be proud of his efforts in ensuring a memorable trip.

Back, as they say, in good old  Blighty, we concluded the year with the now annual Pairs Invitational meeting on 15 November at West Hill.  The course was fine and the weather benign contributing to some hefty scoring with a quarter of the field managing 40 points or more. The winners of the Peter Tilley Trophy, on count back, were Alan Wood and John Pickworth with  43 points and the twenty participating pairs had another enjoyable day.

It is now time to congratulate the  winners of the annual trophies for 2012: David Littlechild (Derek Watkins Trophy), Geoffrey Betts (Guildford Trophy)  Norman Emery (Liberty Trophy) Gordon Christiansen (Spicer & Conlon trophies) and Carolyn Betts (Tolley Trophy)

My thanks, as always, to those who helped out over the year and in particular our Treasurer and general factotum, David Morgan,  not to mention the keeper of our statistics and website guru, Geoff Fowler. 

We  now look forward to another entertaining and varied year under the guidance of the incoming captain, John Astrop  whom  we wish every success.

A reminder of the venues for the new season (full details are on the website if you want to verify the dates):
Aspley Guise & Woburn Sands, Burnham Beeches, Tyrell’s Wood, Barnham Broom/Sheringham and Wrotham Heath.

Best wishes to you all.

Richard Johns
Hon. Secretary

22nd March 2013



Secretary's Report 2012


1.Home Page ** 2.Rules & History ** 3.Results & Handicaps ** 4.Memorable Moments ** 5.Venues ** 6.Honours ** 7.Hole in One ** 8.Past Captains** 9.Reports ** 10.Scribe's Corner ** 11.Site Map